Toy Story 3 (2010)

Goal Progress: 80/485

So here comes the task of trying to play catch up with all of the films that I’ve already seen. I don’t know where else to start so I might as well start with this last year’s nominees and take a look at who won, and who I think should have won.

Let’s start with an easy one….Toy Story 3.

Toy Story 3 was easily one of the best movies that I’ve ever seen. It was brilliantly done. It has it all…great cast…great music….great visuals…..literally, everything. Additionally, it is the only movie to date to make me cry (I’m not talking a little tear, which I’ve been known to do….I’m talking about full out crying).

I feel like if you didn’t want to know what happens in the movie, you wouldn’t be reading this, but in any case, spoiler alert ahead.

We pick up with our favorite characters probably around ten years from when we last saw them. Andy has grown up and has, as we all have, stopped playing with his toys. He’s getting ready to go to college and his former playmates are all in a tizzy over what is going to happen to them. They decide to sneak into a box of old toys that is being donated to a local daycare so that they can get played with. Unfortunately, upon their arrival at Sunnyside, they become subjects of an evil regime, led by the pink and fuzzy Lotso (short for Lots-o-Huggin’ Bear, voiced by Ned Beatty). Woody (Tom Hanks), Buzz (Tim Allen), Jessie (Joan Cusack), and the rest of the gang must formulate a plot to escape and get back to Andy’s before he leaves for college.

The final scene in the movie is without a doubt one of the best in the entire film, and really, one that took me by surprise. I had already cried my eyes out during a previous scene, so I thought my heartbreak was over. Oh how wrong I was. I’m not going to go into the ending, just in case anyone hasn’t seen the film or doesn’t know the ending, because I really think it’s something better experienced firsthand.

But I really think it was the perfect end to the trilogy. I can’t imagine Pixar going forth with any plans for a Toy Story 4. Any continuation of this story would serve no purpose and would only be done to milk the franchise for more money. I know that Disney and Pixar are in the business to make money, but there are other franchises for that (Cars 2, for example) and I think they know that. I just hope that there is no possible way for George Lucas to get a job at Disney and get his hands on this series.

Posted on June 2, 2011, in 2010. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. It’s Ned Beatty, not Warren Beatty who provides the voice of Lotso.

Leave a Reply

